An affordable and flexible online education.

UT Permian Basin is committed to providing accessible and affordable online degree programs designed to help you advance in your career. Select a topic below to learn more about our tuition costs, payment plans, refund policy, and more.

Online Undergraduate Tuition and Mandatory Fees

The estimated cost of tuition and fees for an online undergraduate student enrolled full-time (15 credit hours or more per semester) for the nine-month academic year is $9,799.

FrequencyDistance/Online Learning
TuitionPer Semester Credit Hour*Varies by Student Type
AdvisingPer Term$35
AthleticsPer Credit HourWaived
TechnologyPer Credit Hour$19.50
Library ServicesPer Credit Hour$9
Student ServicesPer Credit HourWaived
Multipurpose CenterPer TermWaived
Medical ServicesPer TermWaived
Freshman OrientationOne Time – 1st Year Only$120
Transfer OrientationOne Time – 1st Year Only$75
Course Fee*Per Course, Per TermVaries

*Further Explanation of Above Fees

  • Tuition Fees are set by the Texas Legislature and UT System Board of Regents (In-State and International Non-Resident) and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
  • Mandatory Fees are non-refundable.
  • Athletics Fee – Students will be charged for the athletic fee if enrolled in at least one face-to-face class or if mailing address is within the 50-mile radius of 79762.
  • Course Fees – Charges in addition to regular tuition for students registered in art, architecture, drama, speech, or music where individual coaching or instruction is the usual method of instruction.
  • Course Differential Fee – All graduate students enrolled in certain courses for business, nursing, and/or engineering.

Incidental Fees

You may also see additional fees on your bill. Some of the most common incidental fees include:

  • Audit Fee –$35 per semester credit hour: fee incurred to schedule no-credit participation in classes.
  • Student ID Card Fee –$10 per ID: Fee for obtaining a student identification card.
  • Add/Drop Fee –$5 per transaction: Fee for adding and/or dropping classes.
  • Graduation Fee –$25 undergrad/$50 graduate: Fee to participate in a graduation ceremony.
  • In-Absentia Fee –$25: Fee to register for a course in-absentia.
  • Late Registration Fee –$15: Fee to register for classes after registration period has ended.
  • Property Deposit –$20: Deposit paid upon admittance as a student to cover any property damage. Refundable upon request after graduation or withdrawal if no damages incurred.
  • Transcript Fee –$7.00 per copy: Fee to obtain an official UTPB transcript.
  • Returned Payment Fee –$30: Fee for payment returned to us by your bank.
  • Payment Plan Enrollment Fee –$35: Fee to enroll in a payment plan.
  • Payment Plan Late Fee –$10 fee for paying a payment plan installment after the due date.

Online Graduate Tuition and Mandatory Fees

The estimated cost of tuition and fees for an online graduate student enrolled full-time (9 credit hours or more per semester) for the nine-month academic year is $3,420.

FrequencyDistance/Online Learning
TuitionPer Semester Credit Hour*Varies by Student Type
AdvisingPer Term$35
AthleticsPer Credit HourWaived
TechnologyPer Credit Hour$19.50
Library ServicesPer Credit Hour$9
Student ServicesPer Credit HourWaived
Multipurpose CenterPer TermWaived
Medical ServicesPer TermWaived
Freshman OrientationOne Time – 1st Year Only$120
Transfer OrientationOne Time – 1st Year Only$75
Course Fee*Per Course, Per TermVaries

*Further Explanation of Above Fees

  • Tuition Fees are set by the Texas Legislature and UT System Board of Regents (In-State and International Non-Resident) and the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board.
  • Mandatory Fees are non-refundable.
  • Athletics Fee – Students will be charged for the athletic fee if enrolled in at least one face-to-face class or if mailing address is within the 50-mile radius of 79762.
  • Course Fees – Charges in addition to regular tuition for students registered in art, architecture, drama, speech, or music where individual coaching or instruction is the usual method of instruction.
  • Course Differential Fee – All graduate students enrolled in certain courses for business, nursing, and/or engineering.

Incidental Fees

You may also see additional fees on your bill. Some of the most common incidental fees include:

  • Audit Fee –$35 per semester credit hour: fee incurred to schedule no-credit participation in classes.
  • Student ID Card Fee –$10 per ID: Fee for obtaining a student identification card.
  • Add/Drop Fee –$5 per transaction: Fee for adding and/or dropping classes.
  • Graduation Fee –$25 undergrad/$50 graduate: Fee to participate in a graduation ceremony.
  • In-Absentia Fee – $25: Fee to register for a course in-absentia.
  • Late Registration Fee – $15: Fee to register for classes after registration period has ended.
  • Property Deposit – $20: Deposit paid upon admittance as a student to cover any property damage. Refundable upon request after graduation or withdrawal if no damages incurred.
  • Transcript Fee – $7.00 per copy: Fee to obtain an official UTPB transcript.
  • Returned Payment Fee – $30: Fee for payment returned to us by your bank.
  • Payment Plan Enrollment Fee –$35: Fee to enroll in a payment plan.
  • Payment Plan Late Fee –$10 Fee for paying a payment plan installment after the due date.

Yes, we offer payment plans. We allow students to pay for their tuition in four installments.

How it works:

  • Your total balance will be divided into four installments. There is a $35 enrollment fee for the fall and spring terms.
  • There is a $25 enrollment fee for the summer terms, and your total balance will be divided into two installments.
  • The first installment is due upon enrollment. The remaining installments are due on the 18th of September, October, and November for fall or the 18th of February, March, and April for spring.
  • Late or missed payments are subject to a $10 late fee.

All refunds are completed after the census date (this is the deadline by which all enrollment and payment arrangements must be finalized; see: Drop and Withdrawal Calendar). If students do not officially withdraw by the census date, they may remain liable to pay for the enrolled courses, even if not attending classes.

All drops or withdrawal actions must be initiated in writing by the student through the Registrar’s Office. A drop is defined as dropping one or more courses while remaining enrolled in other courses. A 100% refund is given for those hours dropped during late registration. A withdrawal is defined as dropping ALL courses. Drops and withdrawals become effective the date the written request, with all required signatures, is received by the Registrar’s Office. Please refer to the Student Accounts page for additional information on how to get a refund.

No, the guaranteed tuition rate only applies to incoming freshman and transfer students who enroll in an undergraduate degree program as an on-campus student.